Summer Camp: The hardest job you’ll ever love

For the past four and a half weeks, I’ve been working as a summer camp counselor at Greenwood Trails in Winsted, CT. I’ve had the job for the past three years, and I can honestly say there is no better job in the world.

That’s not to say it’s easy. Far from it. Every day, I and the rest of the 40 counselors deal with almost 200 kids from ages eight to 16, running activities, organizing cabins and generally making sure they don’t kill themselves. I walk probably five miles a day between the office and the high ropes course and pass out asleep every night from sheer exhaustion.

Our super professional staff learning the ropes during certification week.
Our super professional staff learning the ropes during certification week.

But, each day I wake up with a smile on my face because I’m doing the job that I love. Summer camp provides kids a great opportunity to get outside and try things they’ve never done before. I’ve taught kids how to fence, fish and climb a rock wall. I’ve even introduced them to some of my favorite hobbies like Magic: The Gathering and Dungeons and Dragons, both of which were surprisingly big hits.

For many, it’s the only chance to get out into the woods, learn to be comfortable in the outdoors and get a little dirty. Last weekend, I led an overnight backpacking trip up St. John’s Ledges on the Appalachian Trail. Even though the kids were lugging over-sized car-camping tents and bookbags stuffed with sleeping bags, they walked off the trail laughing and singing.

Greenwood Trails is right in the foothills of the Berkshires, so we get to go to some awesome places on our days off, like New York, Boston, or Bash Bish Falls in Massachusetts.
Greenwood Trails is right in the foothills of the Berkshires, so we get to go to some awesome places on our days off, like New York, Boston, or Bash Bish Falls in Massachusetts.

Camp isn’t just for the kids, however. I have a ton of fun as a counselor. The people that I spend these short ten weeks with become some of my best friends. I’m lucky to say that I have friends on almost every continent. On days off, we take great trips to local lakes and attractions, or maybe just hang out.

Camp is an important part of growing up and I believe that every kid should have the chance to experience it and learn from it and every young adult should consider working at one for the same reasons.

Unfortunately, my short off period is almost over, so I’ll have to wrap up. It’s chicken nuggets again for lunch and I have to run to the dining hall before the kids eat them all.

It really wouldn't be a post about camp if there wasn't a campfire somewhere, would it?
It really wouldn’t be a post about camp if there wasn’t a campfire somewhere, would it?

One thought on “Summer Camp: The hardest job you’ll ever love”

Leave a comment